Owner Operator Stayed leased on or get own authority?

49players

I am currently leased onto a company getting 75% using his trailers and authority. He has good customer freight and a lot of times preloaded trailers. I've grossed a little over 100,000 this year but wonder if I can make more on my own. I am still fairly new to this as I have been leased to 2 different people for going on 3 years now. I typically run 2500 to 3000 miles a week and freight seems to be easy to find in my area, midwest. It just seems that paying someone $1000-$1500 a week to dispatch and allow me use their trailers seems like a lot of wasted money.

vaportrail

Cant really help ya but to put into perspective the company i work for charges 3k/month for the trailer alone... whats there % if you own the trailer?

GAnthony

Non-Canadian truck driver
Supporter
I am currently leased onto a company getting 75% using his trailers and authority. He has good customer freight and a lot of times preloaded trailers. I've grossed a little over 100,000 this year but wonder if I can make more on my own. I am still fairly new to this as I have been leased to 2 different people for going on 3 years now. I typically run 2500 to 3000 miles a week and freight seems to be easy to find in my area, midwest. It just seems that paying someone $1000-$1500 a week to dispatch and allow me use their trailers seems like a lot of wasted money.
yeah, but they are doing all the work that you don;t have to. i suppose they also take out for taxes, IFTA and anything else. once you go on your own, those costs will be on you and maybe then you will see that you are getting a good deal now.

49players

I take care of my quarterly estimates but they take care of IFTA, 2290 if I want them to, and put plates on the truck but I pay for them. I am just curious if its worth the hassle of going on my own or is this good money being leased? I love the people in the office and they darn sure take care of me.

Mike

Staff member