New To Trucking quest: I am thinking about buying my own tractor??

Toko

i have been a company driver for 2 1/2 yrs. Also o/o. I am considering buying a tractor for $30k -$50k or so...But I am nervous!
Can i get enough work and make enough money ($1500 or so weekly) to make it work?
Also how do I get loads & go about running this show alone???
thanks.

Mike

Staff member
i have been a company driver for 2 1/2 yrs. Also o/o. I am considering buying a tractor for $30k -$50k or so...But I am nervous!
Can i get enough work and make enough money ($1500 or so weekly) to make it work?
thanks.
you mentioned that part of your time is as an owner operator. Was that a lease purchase situation?

Are you looking to buy a truck and lease to a company, or are you looking to get your own authority?

ironpony

Professional Pot-Stirrer
Supporter
you mentioned that part of your time is as an owner operator. Was that a lease purchase situation?

Are you looking to buy a truck and lease to a company, or are you looking to get your own authority?
In other words what is your plan to employ this truck? Buying a truck without a plan is a good way to get the wrong truck, and waste your money.

Injun

Rabid Squaw
Staff member
Supporter
I think he means he wants to clear $1,500 after expenses. It's been a very long time since I worked off of load boards, so I have no idea what rates look like today. However, when I did work from load boards, $1,500 after expenses was possible if you booked yourself right. At first, you'll want to put as much as possible away for maintenance. A $30K-50K tractor will likely not be in perfect shape. But it's not an unreasonable figure for something decent, if not luxurious.

ironpony

Professional Pot-Stirrer
Supporter
my authority. i will drive it.
Where are you getting your trailer from?

What kind of freight?

What lanes do you intend to run?

Whatis your anticipated cost per mile?