Need Some Guidance: NO CALLS FROM POSTED LEADS ON LOAD BOARD

Hello all, I hope everyone is having a wonderful week so far.

I work for a small freight brokering agency. The owner does fairly well and has hired me to put loads on Landstar's load board. The problem I'm getting is, nobody inquires about the loads. Everyone who does, either asks ridiculous amounts or asks to load them on a different day. Regardless, the loads sit there on the board all day and it feels like I'm just collecting pay without being an asset to the company. How can I be more proactive to get sales?

Do I need to get loads a certain amount of days in advance? Do I need to double check the posts to make sure my prices aren't being one-upped by other agencies? Im fairly new at this, so I have a very basic understanding. Any help is appreciated as I want to help my boss get more real-deal clients (he only has 1 right now) so that he can succeed and I can eventually move from PT to FT + commission.

Agent_Z

So, you're basically doing the glorified data entry part of the brokerage and, you're upset that the sales agent you work for isn't moving loads?

If shippers post their loads with 5 or 10 other brokerages it creates steep competition. I've made this same rant 100+ times already over the past year, and I'm not going through it again.

There is always that one broker that lists the price on the load board... Always... It's like sitting down at a poker table and just showing everyone the hand you're trying to play.

Your boss is better off trying to get freight that is brokered exclusively through his office rather than fighting for table scraps. Landstar is no better than TQL or CH a lot of times, and they don't leave much room for profit. God help if you if you guys are double-brokering, (I hope not, but if you are) because you're fighting for pennies at that point.

tommyh

I get a lot of emails daily listing loads from brokers,along with quite a few phone calls