Let's Argue About IFTA in the most confusing manner possible

Rigjockey

In Gord we trust!
Supporter
Okay. I need some help from you samrt mother truckers, In understanding IFTA.
I am a company driver, Why do I care? I try to do what is the best interest of my company. The owners are great guys and they pass on money saved to the drivers.
I dont want to start a whole new thread.

Now, Is it best to fuel in the higher fuel taxed states or is it better to get the best fuel price after the tax rate is subtracted from the fuel price?
Are the two related or separate issues.
I know IFTA is very complicated, So bear with me as I try to grasp this F-d up system.

Tazz

Infidel
I always figured that it was better to buy the lowest after tax removed. Unless you can pick your route to run cheaper states your tax is gonna be the same no matter what for the miles you run in any given state. With the exception of Oregon I think.

Now Blood Blood can come tell me how wrong I am.
8 8978 can tell us they do it different
And mndriver mndriver can show us 19 bazillion spread sheets

AK7

I just fuel before I run out.lol
I used to have that figured out,but that was 25 years ago and I'm sure it's all changed.

Duck

Bumper sticker slogan goes here
Supporter
I am a company driver, Why do I care? I try to do what is the best interest of my company. The owners are great guys and they pass on money saved to the drivers.

Now, Is it best to fuel in the higher fuel taxed states or is it better to get the best fuel price after the tax rate is subtracted from the fuel price?
I know IFTA is very complicated, So bear with me as I try to grasp this F-d up system.
Last week I picked up a load in Minnesota.

Delivered in Calumet ****ty, IL

Closest overnight parking was Gary, IN.

Load never had to be in Indiana.

But I got fuel there just to screw with their IFTA ;)

Even though 8 8978 said it wouldn't affect anything. :(

Blood

Driveler Emeritus
Supporter