A trailer loading question..

FlatBroke

OK, first off I have been driving tractor trailer for a few years, but I only have a couple of months experience with a van,freight box. So I have some questions about how the loads should be positioned and for distributing the weight.

1) Is there a simple way to remember how a load should be placed on a 53' or 48' trailer on pallets, and or on the floor?

2) What weight would you be concerned enough to go to a truckstop with a scale and weigh it, same as above trailer 53' or 48' if this makes a difference?

3) I know some places require the tandems to be slid all the way to the rear before they will load. Or is this only if you are dropping the trailer? Once you get loaded and recieve the BOL and see the weight, is there a good start off point to slide the axle too?

If you think of anything else, please feel free to share...

GAnthony

Methuselah
Supporter
OK, first off I have been driving tractor trailer for a few years, but I only have a couple of months experience with a van,freight box. So I have some questions about how the loads should be positioned and for distributing the weight.
ok

1) Is there a simple way to remember how a load should be placed on a 53' or 48' trailer on pallets, and or on the floor?
unless you are pulling LTL freight, i'm thinking the load will be "uniform" in its weight from front to back....in most instances. otherwise, the heaviest weights should be over the drives and towards the tandems.

2) What weight would you be concerned enough to go to a truckstop with a scale and weigh it, same as above trailer 53' or 48' if this makes a difference?