2 Cents on Most Reliable Truck?

MrHippo

Thread starter #1
Im new to trucking.

Considering looking for a 2011ish T660 13 speed cummins as first truck.

Been a mechanic by trade before turning to trying this out.

Currently at Covenant Transport learning. Plan to eventually go Landstar.

I appreciate any input.

-MrHippo

Mike

Staff member
First off, welcome to the forum. Search around and you will see lots of comments regarding your question.

As for a dependable truck, everything from 04 to current (and some 03) is equipped with emissions. Dealers will try to tell you that a 04-07 is non emissions, but that is not true (they have EGR, which was full of problems). My suggestion is to avoid any emissions truck up to at least 2012, and I personally won't touch one older than 2015. I have a non emissions truck, and I will be watching how the newer trucks perform long term before making my decision on my next truck a few years down the road.

You can get the truck you are looking for, in the forum of a non emissions Glider, only it is a new truck. Fitzgerald sold T660's, not sure if they do anymore as KW is stopping production of them. That said, if they have them, you can get one with a 13 speed, and with a Cummins N-14 (rebuilt by Cummins). If your credit is good at the time you want to purchase, it is much easier to finance a Glider than it is a new truck from a dealer.

used, I would be looking at 03 or older, or an used Glider.

Mike

Staff member
I've heard gliders are banned in Cali, is that true?
Yes and no. If you need to run out there regularly, you cannot unless you have a DPF installed. Not worth it to me. Beyond that, you can file for a 3 day pass, I think that is just once a year.

gearjammer

jammer
Staff member
Supporter
take my advice and just rip California out of your map book there are 47 other states that won't give you near the hassles that CA will.