Pet baths at truck stops; anyone interested?

Discussion in 'Truckers Pet Stop' started by MshelP, Mar 6, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MshelP

MshelP New Member

I am a former driver (10 years OTR) who also worked in a vet clinic for a few years doing baths and grooming. I had to quit trucking a few years back for a variety of reasons and can't go back to driving but I miss the lifestyle. I also love animals and enjoyed working with them. I'd like to combine the best parts of trucking with the best parts of grooming and create a mobile grooming shop with living quarters in a 22'-24' box truck and hit the road.

My questions are as follows:
    Would you be willing to pay someone to bathe your pets while on the road?

Would you be willing to help crowdfund such a venture or, if not, pass the word to others who might be?

2. Mike

Mike Well-Known Member Staff Member

There are people out there doing this now (not focused on truckers though), so I guess there must be some interest. I wouldn't be focused on the trucking industry though, basically see if your area is already saturated by this business, check demand, then get busy putting the business together.

3. MshelP

MshelP New Member

Yeah, I know there are mobile grooming business's in the cities but I'm not interested in staying put in one place. I want to focus on drivers because that is a completely untapped market. I know that during my years driving with a dog in my truck there were many, many times that I wished I had a way to bathe her while on the road. I'm pretty sure I have some gypsy in my background somewhere because I loved going place to place all the time as a driver.

I WANT to focus on drivers, I like drivers, I miss being a driver but I want to know if there is enough interest on the part of drivers to make this a going venture before I invest a ton of work into putting together a business plan.

4. Mike

Mike Well-Known Member Staff Member