Onboard Truck Technology

Discussion in 'Trucking Technology' started by Hunter Standely, Feb 24, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hunter Standely

Hunter Standely New Member

I used to be a driver; however, I recently left for the office life and was placed in the maintenance department. My department primarily handles onboard trucking technology and I figured the best place to get feedback is directly from you guys, the drivers. Therefore, if you guys know of any new technology that betters the truck in general (aka maintenance, fuel, ect) or the drivers experience (in the cab) that you guys have adapted or found to be beneficial. Thanks for any and all feedback.

• Like Like x 1
  2. mndriver

mndriver curmudgeon extraordinare Staff Member Supporter

take more technology OUT Of the truck. K.I.S.S. Just more **** to break or cause issues.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Good question. Here are some technologies to consider.

• Telematics
    • Driver Behavior
    • Collision Avoidance
    • Digital Video Recording
    • Dash Cameras
    • Road Safety

4. ironpony

ironpony Well-Known Member Supporter

Don't forget the robot behind the wheel.

• Like Like x 1
  5. krelithous

krelithous Prius hater Supporter

i'm waiting to see how these things handle bad weather conditions. i gotta see what happens when a drunken tourist jumps out in front of it:popcorn: and i also gotta see what happens when the brainless idiot has there face buried in the phone and doesn't take over in time after the idiot alarms start going off:popcorn:. and what about firmware and map updates i am sure the dealer will charge for those also

6. krelithous

i can also see that these brainless idiots that come up with this **** don't care about job losses more than likely as this stuff becomes more and more advanced that's what's gonna happen!!!

7. Mike

Mike Well-Known Member Staff Member