HEARTLAND EXPRESS DRIVER REVIEW

Discussion in 'Heartland Express' started by joemi777, Jun 18, 2012.

1. joemi777

joemi777 New Member

Heartland Express Driver Review

I have been driving with Heartland for two months and I will give you the good and the bad.

The Good:
    >New Trucks
    >New Trailers
    >High advertised pay rate
    >You get to drop and hook alot

The bad:
    >They will fire you for having any inverter or linear such as a fridge that plugs into your 12v accessory outlet.

>The advertised pay rate is based on household movers miles which has a higher variance than randmcnally. My current average is 13% of miles I drive vs what I get paid. If you run 100k miles a year with them 13k will be for free.

>I have never been to prison but I think they would have better shower facilities than Heartland. This is true for all terminals I have been to. I can't testify for the Iowa terminal because that's the only one I haven't been to.

>You don't set your hometime they do. You could be 25 miles from the house, have been out 2 weeks, and they will make you wait to go home.

>Your only going to average 1800-2000 miles a week. This wouldn't be so bad if you were being paid on practicle miles but your not.

>You will be sitting alot and have to pull teeth to get lay over pay.

>Driver grievances are readily available conversation in any lounge you go in. The main complaint isn't miles or pay. The problems I hear drivers talking about is the lack of support and their concerns are dismissed over home time issues. Many of them feel the company doesn't care.