So you're thinking of working for JB Hunt? Please read.

Discussion in 'J.B. Hunt' started by TRUCK3R M1KE, Jul 9, 2012.

1. TRUCK3R M1KE

TRUCK3R M1KE Nomad

First off, I am a driver. This post is being made because most/all of you have heard far more bad than good about JB Hunt, and I want to tell you some things that will change your opinions for the better. Read on, please.

Yeah, I know, "big company with sloooow trucks". It's the same thing I thought. I was FedEx Ground linehaul before coming here. Loved my job. But after I transferred from South Dakota to Memphis, the contractor I started working for down here turned out to be a total pain in the *ss. So I looked to jump ship. I saw an ad on Craigslist about a locally-based regional dedicated job that paid well ($900/wk earnings + full benefits and home on weekends). I called on it, found out it was JBH, and groaned.

Then I thought, "you know what, it beats my current situation. Let's see how this goes".

My recruiter (Ron A.) was very upfront about everything. Great guy. He got me rolling with the background stuff and then I just waited for them to check everything out and approve me for orientation. Took about a week, and then I was scheduled.

Did my orientation in Atlanta. I will say that Lee Davis (my orientation guy) knows his sh*t. I struggled with some of the policies he explain (me being an ex-Super Trucker and all), and he basically told me, "It's simple. Either accept that this is how you are going to do things (safely, safely, and more safely), or don't let the door hit you on the way out."

I relented, and thus began the change to my attitude and driving behavior. And yeah, that's a good thing.